Jeremy Johnson – Mayor

City Commissioner, Jeremy JohnsonJeremy Johnson has lived in Pittsburg nearly all his life. He is a graduate of Pittsburg public schools and received his bachelor’s degree in English from Pittsburg State University. After receiving his master’s degree from the University of Rochester in New York, Jeremy worked as an instructor in PSU’s English department for several years. He previously worked as coordinator of the Health Homes program at Community Health Center of Southeast Kansas. He now serves as Jobs for America’s Graduates Specialist at Pittsburg High School. He also serves on the Wesley House board of directors. He and his wife, Megan, an area teacher, are also active members of Pittsburg Area Young Professionals. Commissioner Johnson was first elected in April of 2015. His term expires in January of 2020. Contact Commissioner Johnson.


Patrick O’Bryan – President of the Board 

Patrick O'BryanPatrick O’Bryan has been a resident, business owner and property owner in Pittsburg for over 48 years, and previously owned the retail store, Little’s Inc., in downtown Pittsburg. He served as a board member and president of the Pittsburg Area Chamber of Commerce, the Downtown Merchant Association, and president and financial chairman of the Pittsburg Decorations Council. Commissioner O’Bryan was elected in November of 2017.  His term will expire in January of 2022. Contact Commissioner O’Bryan.


Sarah Chenoweth

Sarah ChenowethSarah Chenoweth grew up in Baxter Springs, Kansas and graduated from Pittsburg State University. She and her husband own local curbside recycling service, Pittsburg Recycling Collection. She also serves as a staff member at Safehouse Crisis Resource Center and works as a yoga instructor for multiple wellness organizations and fitness centers in Pittsburg. Additionally, Chenoweth substitute teaches for Pittsburg USD 250 and Girard USD 248 school districts. She volunteers for multiple community organizations, including Women Helping Women: A Fairy Godmothers’ Fund, Community Foundation of Southeast Kansas, and Southeast Kansas Chapter of the National Organization for Women (SEK NOW). Commissioner Chenoweth was elected in November of 2017. Her term will expire in January of 2020. Contact Commissioner Chenoweth.


Dawn McNay

Dawn McNayDawn McNay grew up in Omaha, Nebraska, and moved to Pittsburg with her family in 1993. She has held the position of Community Health Center of Southeast Kansas director of development for six years, and previously worked for Via Christi Hospital for 18 years. She has volunteered for multiple community organizations, including USD 250 School Board, Family Resource Center, PSU Foundation Board and Pittsburg Public Library Foundation Board.Commissioner McNay was elected in November of 2017. Her term will expire in January of 2022. Contact Commissioner McNay.



Chuck Munsell

City Commissioner, Chuck MunsellChuck Munsell is a lifelong resident of Pittsburg. His family owned and operated Pryor trash service where he worked for several years. After high school, Chuck attended Pittsburg State University obtaining an associate degree in Drafting. During college and until they closed, Mr. Munsell worked for McNally’s Manufacturing. Recently, Chuck was employed by the City of Pittsburg Fire Department. He retired after 25 years of service. Mr. Munsell is now employed with the USD 250 Transportation Department. An important aspect of his life is family – his wife Karen works for the City of Pittsburg Finance Department, two sons Eric and Mike both work for Black & Veatch in Olathe, and one grandson Ayden is the son of Eric and wife, Theresa. Commissioner Munsell was elected in April 2013. His term will expire in January of 2020. Contact Commissioner Munsell.