Planning Commission/Board of Zoning Appeals

Board Responsibilities

Each serving a three-year term, this board has seven members, all of which are required to be residents of the City of Pittsburg. This board reviews requests for variances in zoning ordinances, such as building setback requirements, building sizes, etc. Members of this commission review and adopt (as well as update) the Comprehensive Plan for the City of Pittsburg, establish zoning districts and allowable uses, review zoning regulations within the city and review requests for special permits or conditional uses within certain zoning districts in the city. Site plans for planned areas are also reviewed when this commission meets. Seven members must reside within the city limits, while two members may live outside the city limits, but within a 3-mile radius of the city.

Meeting Times & Locations

5:30 pm

Fourth Monday of each month

City Hall
201 W 4th Street
Pittsburg, KS

Agendas & Minutes

Agendas are available prior to the meetings.


Download Latest Agenda View All Agendas


View Most Recent Minutes   View All Minutes

*To obtain agendas and/or minutes for meetings that took place in 2015 or earlier, please contact the City Clerk.


Membership Period: January 1, 2015 to December 31, 2017

  • Francis DeMott, first term
  • Timothy Kundiger, second term

Membership Period: April 26, 2016 to December 31, 2018

  • Laura Klusener, unexpired

Membership Period: January 1, 2016 to December 31, 2018

  • Patty Horgan, second term
  • Mike Creel, first term

Membership Period: January 1, 2017 to December 31, 2019

  • Bob Gilmore, second term
  • Mike Wilber, first term

Contact Information

Tammy Nagel
City Clerk
201 W. 4th St.
Pittsburg, KS 66762
(620) 231-4100